The Great Maldito

Thou shall not bitch

Brotherly

As I change my Facebook status to “In a relationship”, I also noticed that my brother’ status became “Single”. Although I am somehow relieved that he and his girlfriend broke up, there’s a part in me that became sad. Relieved because I want my brother to keep away from women especially that he is graduating, saddened because parting ways is painful.

My brother has to go through his first break up without a father. You know, when most of us are in the stage of our firsts, the person we usually ask for help especially when it comes to relationship is our parents.

I remember how cool my tatay was in giving his swabe moves to my older brother in courtship, dealing with girls and in handling relationships. He was even there cheering for my brother when he knew that my brother lost his virginity to a girl we barely even seen. I am 9 year old during that time. My dad told him it’s okay with him as long as he keep it safe.  Barging in to their conversation is punishable by death so I just kept my mouth shut and find ways to lost my virginity too! Joke.

I grew up lacking that kind of support. When I first experienced the pain of breaking up, I had no one to run to except for myself. Alangan naman na hukayin ko pa tatay ko para magsumbong lang. Kakapagod ang maghukay. I am not open to my mom when it comes to my private life too. So either I talk to myself, or talk to myself.

I don’t know what advice to give to my younger bro. I have been through so many break-ups before, and God knows the crazy things I did during that time. But I am different, and so is my brother. We don’t have the same coping skills. All I said to him was,

“Everything’s gonna be all right. When you are successful, girls will just line up for you. Cheer up”.

I don’t know if that helped him, but that’s the best of best words I have in mind. I avoid saying move on, since it’s better for him to do it rather than me saying it.

Just this morning, my sister texted me that she’s afraid. She is currently lining for her interview with Congressman for a new position. I’m always the one they run to when they are in trouble or need help and somehow I feel proud about it, makes me feel my worth as a brother. But there are times I wish that they still have a father that they can tell things that worry them.

There are things I never experienced from my older brother. We grew up apart. He was 5 years older and we have two separate roads to follow when we are still kids. I guess it’s the age gap between us that separated us. We’re totally opposites. In fact, I don’t even have a vivid picture if we ever had good times with each other back then. He got his own set of friends which I am not allowed to join since I’m too small for them. So I settled with my own imaginary friends instead.

I fought their battles in life. But none of them knows what I have been through. I woke up this morning, and asked myself…

Nasaan na nga ba si Tootsie Guevarra?

Single Post Navigation

34 thoughts on “Brotherly

  1. “Everything’s gonna be all right. When you are successful, girls will just line up for you. Cheer up”. sakto! tama sa alat at betsin napakagandang payo…

    ahahhaha hinanap mo tlga si Tootsie Guevarra kakaloka ka tlga…

  2. waaaaahhh! emo na sana, sinaniban lang ni Tootsie…
    eto pa – “So either I talk to myself, or talk to myself”
    kamustah naman ang pagiging baliw so far? hehe
    henyways, ang bait mong kapatid!weeeee!! :)

  3. still iba pa rin may kapatid. hay. naiinsecure na naman ako at solong anak ako.

    sigh

  4. Kapag pala nag-eemote umi-english ne? Kaya iniiwasan ko mag-emote eh. Haha. Ako rin di ako open sa family ko about may private life. Parang stranger din sila no? Kahit open sila, I can’t find the courage to share and open my self to them. Wala lang, epal lang ako. Haha.

    • Oo, dapat talaga english pag nag emote para worthy ang down feelings..sayang naman kasi ang effort ng pa luha luha kung hindi english..atleast parang full force ang effort.ahahhahaa..

      minsan iniisip ko nga kung may paki pa ba nanay ko sa buhay ko..hindi nagtatanong eh. ahahahha

  5. nosebleed! hehe.

    nakakarelate ako nito nag bonggang-bonggang major major. i have never been able to experience of getting any advice from my late father and i never blamed him because I know that his father, my grandfather, was also like him. my father grew up not receiving any advice of any kind from his dad. sad but what can we do.

    your siblings are lucky to have you manoy! ;-)

    • Siguro pag naabutan pa ako nun, mag aadvice din yun sakin, pero hindi e. kaya hand-me-down advise nalang yung akin. ahahahaha..

      PS: Manay, my sister have a work na!! she’s now a pharmacist!! May katuwang na ako sa buhay..parang meralco advertisement lang.ahaha

  6. Amp emotional ang post!!! Potah. At least diba may naglolook up pa rin sa iyo. Baka tamad rin sila maghukay!

    At ano namang atraso sa iyon ni Tootsie!!!

  7. pak! naka english ug ahat sa ka emo han. eheheh..

    ang swerti nila at ang swerti mo na sa lagay na yan dahil may pudra pa kayong kinilala. ako nga walang naging sandigan. ako lang at ang lasengga kong mudra ever since. kaya medyo naka relate ako sa me myself and I as someone to turn to. but from it all, we grow sa better people and stronger individuals. sumeryos much lang. ehehhee

  8. congrats! may work na pala kapatid mo.

    muntikan na rin ako magpalit ng status sa FB nung weekend. ganyan din kaya ang ipapayo mo sakin? hindi ako nakakapag usap ng tungkol sa lovelife sa tatay ko. parang awkward lang. lalo na sa sex life sus! baka mabatukan pa ko nun. hehe

  9. I felt the same way when my sister experienced her second, most painful break up. The first one wasn’t so bad as they just naturally drifted apart. The second one was too debilitating that she came home crying to me every night. Malayo ang parents namin and they had no idea my sister, or me for that matter, had a boyfriend. So my little siblings (ages 16, 11 and 10 respectively) and I were the ones who comforted her until she moved on. :)
    I’m proud of how close my siblings and I are though. Siguro dala narin ng dahilang wala ang mga magulang namin dito kaya kami-kami lang din ang nagdadamayan.

  10. amen sa advise mo sa kanya. once he’s successful in life, he’ll be overwhelmed with squadron of girls all coming to get a piece of him. yan ang nangyari sakin nung past life ko. lol.

  11. ano ba talagang kamunduhan ang ginawa ni totsie sa iyo.. haha wow cool brod.. hehehe

  12. miss ko na rin si tootsie guevarra. i talk to myself most of the time coz im living independently right now and ang hirap humanap ng sagot sa sariling tanong or explanations sa mga pinagdadaanan. i feel for your brother for i know the feeling of not being close to a father, even worse if no father is available.

  13. Buti at hindi ka pa napakanta ng “di makatulog sa gabi sa kakaisip, sa diwa ko ikaw ang aking panaginip oh bakit ba ikaw ang syang laging laman ng isip koooo!” hehehehe kinanta mo noh?? lol

  14. myfilthyroom on said:

    emo ampotah.. wag ganun men.. mejo na-tears (naluha) ako eh.. hahaha

  15. I’m not close to dad either. As if there’s a wall that divides us. :(

  16. fulfilling tlg kapag family or anyone seeks out for help in u. tama b english ko? haha.
    sarap kc pag alam or feeling mo kailangan ng opinyon mo s isang sitwasyon. la lng arte lng.

    hehe. napadaan ulet ako ser, magandang umaga! :P

  17. Hmmm kaya nga kung minsan kung me big bro ka. Gaya ko palibhasa bunso ng pamilya at me isang kuya at ate so maituturing kong, they are my treasures in my life.

    Ok n sana kaso pampagulo si tootsie hehehe!

  18. Hmmm kaya nga kung minsan ok kung me big bro ka. Gaya ko palibhasa bunso ng pamilya at me isang kuya at ate so maituturing kong, they are my treasures in my life.

    Ok n sana kaso pampagulo si tootsie hehehe!

  19. ang labo mo.. biglang tootsie guevarra? hahah

    sino nga pala yun? lol

    buhay pa ang mga magulang ko (although hiwalay) at medyo close naman kami ng kaisa-isa kong kuyang kapatid kaya.. sorry dehins ko ramdam ang post mo. hihihi. parehas lang tayo dun sa iba ang circle friends. ewan ko ba,, ayaw yata talaga ng mga panganay na kaberks mo yung mga barkada nila. siguro ayaw nila malaman natin ung mga emo-shits nila kung meron man

  20. hahaha! imaginary friends..
    damo damo ko ni. half of them pareho kami ngalan. :D

  21. I grew up without a father den. Ayoko ren magkaren ng father. Wala ren akong family na matuturing kong family.

    Hindi ko alam kung bakit masaya naman ako.

    Boyfriend nalang kulang heaven na. I reto mo kaya saken yang kapatid mo? J0hWk LaNg Ph0eWZ!

  22. medyo matagal-tagal narin walang update, siguro namamasyal parin si kuya maldito :P

  23. Oo nga no! Nasan na nga ba si Tootsi Guevarra? hahaha
    Pa advise naman koya oh! hahaha

  24. buti nlng naka access na ulit ako sa blog mo kasi maghahanap na sana ako ng way pra maka secure ng email mo pra makahingi ng password.heheeh.

    weeee, na serious side of you in this post, pero kakaloka pa rin ang ending. pero seriously, nasaan na nga si totsie guevarra?eehehe

  25. Kuya Maldito!
    Alam ko late reaction ako, hahaha! pero ngeon lang ako napadaan sa site mo. :D At nasa favorites ko na sia. lol. :)) hobby ko ang pagbabasa ng mga blogs kasi frustration ko ang pag susulat. HAHAHA! Gusto kong gumawa ng blog pero wala akong lakas ng loob. haha.. I was really enjoying reading your blog entries. Lakas ng karisma makahatak ng readers. hahaha! :))) Ako din, gusto kong maging younger brother mo din ako. lol. Yun lang muna sa ngeon, salamat ng marami sa inspirasyon! :) More power and Godbless you more kuya! :D

  26. ohhaidur! ang dami mong smiley na ginamit…sana dinagdagan mo pa.ahahaha.joke.
    salamat salamat sa pagbabasa..minsan na nga lang ako mag post kasi busy sa trabaho.
    magsulat ka! sos..who knows, bukas makalawa ikaw na yung super sikat na blogger sa whole wide web. hi hi hi

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

